Pioneer News

APPLY ON LINE – Deadline to apply August 31st

The students listed below were selected to receive awards from the 2018 Canadian Picture Pioneers Student Assistance Program.

Huzaifa Ahmed – Ontario – Cineplex Entertainment
PJ Cheyne-Miller – Ontario – Cineplex Entertainment
Taylon Clark – Ontario – Cineplex Entertainment
Natasha Cross – Ontario – Cineplex Entertainment
Rebecca Eastwood – Alberta – Cineplex Entertainment
Christopher Gagnon – Alberta – Cineplex Entertainment
Lynette Grandmaison – British Columbia – Cineplex Entertainment
Julia Greene – New Brunswick – Cineplex Entertainment
Haylee Hinger – Alberta – Cineplex Entertainment
Sydney Liao – Ontario – Extreme Reach
Deanna Liao – Ontario – Extreme Reach
Jordan Lok – British Columbia – Cineplex Entertainment
Emma Mackie – British Columbia – Imagine Cinemas
Saio Mansaray – Manitoba – Cineplex Entertainment
Reegan McCheyne – Manitoba – Landmark Cinemas
Michaela McKinnon – Nova Scotia – Cineplex Entertainment
Katherine Ong – Ontario – Premier Theatres
Jessie Pan – British Columbia – Cineplex Entertainment
Karishma Patel – Ontario – Imagine Cinemas
Hannah Rees – Ontario – Landmark Cinemas
Laura Schnobb – Ontario – Cineplex Entertainment
Sam Tonner – Ontario – Landmark Cinemas
Tatiana Tuzzi – British Columbia – Cineplex Entertainment
Alison Zimmer – Ontario – Mongrel Media

In Memoriam

Our deepest sympathies to family and friends for the loss of loved ones, we remember CPP members we lost in 2019

Don Matsumoto – Ontario

Bill Young – British Columbia

Al Laschuk – Winnipeg

Herb Black – Ontario

Troy Durand – Ontario

Paul Wroe – Ontario

The 2018 Canadain Picture Pioneers Award Recipients were announced during ShowCanada.  We congratulate all of the below recipients for their dedication to help support others in our industry community.

Pioneer of the Year

Clinton Young – Extreme Reach


Silver Spotlight Award Recipients

Frank Carey – Wallace and Carey ( posthumously )

Loredana Lombardo – VVS Quebec

Pat Marshall – Cineplex Entertainment

Heather Briant – Cineplex Entertainment


Please joins us to help honour all of the above recipients at this year's Awards Dinner which will be held November 15th at the Westin Prince Hotel, Toronto.


2017 Awards Dinner

Another great Awards Dinner finished, thank you to everyone who attended and especially our Event Sponsors.

This year's recipients, from left to right.

Barry Newstead, Jason Fulsom, John Pedersen, Karen Hansen and Michael Stewart

Executives and Members of the Canadian Picture Pioneers last week attended an international conference on the history of the industry at Ryerson University.

The Pioneers attended to screen for conference members a video presentation of the Canadian Picture Pioneers Video Project.