The Pioneers have always acknowledged those whom have dedicated themselves to the organization.

In 1952 the Pioneer Board began discussions on ways to honour dedicated members of the Pioneers on an annual basis. In 1953, the first “Pioneer of the Year” dinner was hosted. Each year since a selection committee of past recipients selects not only a new "Pioneer of the Year" but also has authority to present others with Pioneer awards when it seems appropriate.

The below links provide continued recognition of those who have earned these awards.


  • A pictorial version of Pioneer of the Year recipients may be accessed CLICK HERE
  • For a historical list of Pioneer of the Year and other Awards Recipients click CLICK HERE
  • For more information on the CPP Awards CLICK HERE
  • To check out the 2023 Awards Dinner Highlight Reel CLICK HERE 

2023 Awards Dinner Recipients

Pioneer of the Year
Jason Fulsom

Silver Spotlight Award Recipients
Kylie Bechberger
Carrie Wolfe

The Awards are presented each year at the Canadian Picture Pioneers Awards Dinner. To check out the 2023 Awards Dinner Highlight Reel, click here

View some of the past Award Dinner Books as PDFs by "clicking" on the book covers below:

2023 Recipient2022 Recipient2019 Recipient2018 Recipient2017 Recipient2016Recipient2015Recipient 2014Recipient2013Recipient2012Recipient2011Recipient2010Recipient2009Recipient2008Recipient2007Recipient2006Recipient2005Recipient2004Recipient2003Recipient2002Recipient2001Recipient2000 Award Boom